Niua

People

Shri Hardeep Singh Puri

Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs | Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas

Shri. Hardeep Singh Puri, Hon’ble Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs was born in Delhi on 15 February 1952. He did his BA (Hons) History from Hindu College, University of Delhi and was placed first in order of Merit in 1971 and completed his MA(History) 1973 in the First Division.

Shri. Hardeep Singh Puri served on three occasions as a member of India’s delegation to the GATT/United Nations in Geneva including as Ambassador and Permanent Representative from 2002 to 2005. He was the President of the United Nations Security Council in August 2011 and November 2012 and Chairman of the United Nations Security Council Counter-Terrorism Committee in 2011-2012.

http://mohua.gov.in/minister/Hardeep-Singh-Puri.php

Shri Kaushal Kishore

Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs

Shri Kaushal Kishore, Hon'ble Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs was born in Lucknow on 25 January 1960. He completed higher secondary from Kalicharan Inter College, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. He has served as Member of Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh Minister of State, Gov. of Uttar Pradesh Member of Standing Committee on Home Affairs; Consultative Committee in Ministry of Labour Employment; Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice Standing Committee on Water Resources Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development.

http://mohua.gov.in/minister/kaushal-kishore.php

Shri Durga Shanker Mishra

IAS, Secretary | Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

Shri. Durga Shanker Mishra is currently the Secretary of Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs. He is a 1984 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre. Shri. D. S. Mishra is also the Chairman of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation.

Shri. D.S. Mishra has an undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur and an MBA from the University of Western Sydney. He also holds a postgraduate diploma in public policy from International Institute of Social Studies, The Hague. In addition, Shri. D.S Mishra holds a postgraduate diploma in human resource management.

Shri. D.S. Mishra has served in various key positions for both the Government of India and the Government of Uttar Pradesh during his career.

http://mohua.gov.in/cms/contact.php

Shri Kunal Kumar

Mission Director(Smart Cities) | Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

Shri. Kunal Kumar, IAS presently holds the position of Joint Secretary & Mission Director (Smart Cities Mission), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India since May 2018. Earlier, he was Municipal Commissioner at Pune Municipal Corporation, Maharashtra for close to 4 years. He has been working in the State of Maharashtra since 1999 and has served across various cities of Maharashtra.

Shri. Kunal Kumar has worked as District Collector in three districts of Bhandara, Jalgaon and Aurangabad and has also worked as Municipal Commissioner in Kolhapur Municipal Corporation. Besides travelling, he has an avid interest in reading and follows sports across the world.

Shri. Kunal Kumar is an Electrical Engineering graduate from IIT Roorkee, and has successfully completed his Masters in Public Management from National University of Singapore jointly conducted with Harvard Kennedy School, Cambridge, USA. Shri. Kunal Kumar was awarded by the Prime Minister of India for excellence in AADHAR Governance award during his stint as District Collector of Aurangabad.

http://mohua.gov.in/cms/telephone-directory.php

Shri Rahul Kapoor

Director, Smart Cities Mission | Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Govt of India

Shri. Rahul Kapoor is an officer of Indian Railway Accounts Service and is currently working as a Director in the Smart Cities Mission in the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs. He oversees the operational issues related to implementation of Smart Cities Mission projects and has been involved in program design of various initiatives of the Ministry related to innovation, capacity building, standardization, liveability, and governance of Smart Cities.

Shri. Rahul Kapoor has worked as Director (Banking) in the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance. As Director Finance in the Ministry of Railways, he has gained expertise in design and implementation of Public Private Partnership projects and framing of innovative schemes for non-fare revenue generation. Shri. Rahul Kapoor has also worked extensively in Rail Land Development Authority on financial appraisal, modelling and management of land development projects.

Shri. Kapoor has a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and a Master’s in Business Economics from University of Delhi.

VICE-PRESIDENT

Mr. Kunal Kumar

NIUA is committed that more oppJoint Secretary (Mission Director-Smart Cities)

MEMBERS

Mr. Shyam S Dubey

Joint Secretary and Financial Advisor

Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

Mr. Cherian Thomas

National Director World Vision India

Dr. (Mrs.) Jyoti Parikh

Executive Director

Integrated Research Action and Development (IRDAde)

Mr. Malwinder Singh Jaggi

Commissioner

Municipal Corporation Amritsar

Mr. K Venkata Ramana Reddy

Metropolitan Commissioner, VUDA

Dr. Dinesh H.Brahmbhatt

IAS (Retired)

Dr. O.P Agarwal

Chief Executive Officer

World Resource Institute

MEMBER-SECRETARY

Mr. Hitesh Vaidya

Director

National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA)

D. Ajay

D. Ajay Suri

Senior Advisor

dsuri@niua.org

Mayura

Mayura  Gadkari

Conservation Specialist and Project Coordinator

mgadkari@niua.org

Krishna Kant

Krishna Kant Pandey

Team Leader

kkpandey@niua.org

Kakul

Kakul Misra

National Program Head

kmisra@niua.org

Utsav

Utsav Choudhury

Team Leader

uchoudhury@niua.org

Debolina

Debolina Kundu

Professor

dkundu@niua.org

Debjani

Debjani Ghosh

Associate Professor

dghosh@niua.org

Sandeep

Sandeep Thakur

Associate Professor

sthakur@niua.org

Paramita

Paramita Dey

Senior Research Officer

pdey@niua.org

Nilesh Prakash

Nilesh Prakash Rajadhyaksha

Lead - Urban Policy and Planning

nrajadhyaksha@niua.org

Umamaheshwaran

Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar

Chair, Urban Resilience

urajasekar@niua.org

Jyoti

Jyoti Dash

Senior Programme Manager

jdash@niua.org

Deep

Deep Pahwa

Communication Expert (Graphic Design)

dpahwa@niua.org

Nabamalika

Nabamalika Joardar

Fellowship Manager

njoardar@niua.org

Kanak

Kanak Tiwari

Lead - Urban Policy and Planning

ktiwari@niua.org

Naim

Naim Keruwala

Program Coordinator & Team Lead

nkeruwala@niua.org

Victor Rana

Victor Rana Shinde

Team Lead & Water and Environment

vshinde@niua.org

Uday

Uday Bhonde

Project Coordinator (NG)

ubhonde@niua.org